Curriculum Committee Governance

Curriculum Committee Governance Policy Statement

The Curriculum Committee of the College of Medicine is charged with identifying the goals and objectives of the curriculum and with developing, coordinating and evaluating the undergraduate medical curriculum.  These responsibilities are accomplished in accordance with the accreditation standards of the LCME and with the mission and vision of the College of Medicine.

The Curriculum Committee is charged with establishing and maintaining a program for ongoing development, review, evaluation and enhancement of the curriculum.  These responsibilities are accomplished proactively to ensure that a fully integrated, current and effective curriculum fosters development of physicians prepared for and committed to excellence in patient care, lifelong scholarship and professionalism.

The Curriculum Committee is charged with establishing educational competencies and overseeing the design and implementation of the curriculum.  These responsibilities include specifying curriculum components, allocating time to curriculum components, identifying module directors, clerkship directors and teaching faculty, specifying educational strategies, specifying assessment methods and evaluating outcomes.  In addition, these responsibilities include promoting development of teaching faculty, establishing standards for teaching faculty and evaluating teaching performance.  The Committee sets policies and processes with the approval of the Dean of College of Medicine.

The Curriculum Committee is charged with making recommendations to the Dean of College of Medicine concerning the elements required for successful implementation of the curriculum.  These elements include teaching faculty, resources for ongoing curriculum and faculty development, administrative support and the technology and teaching space required by the curriculum design.

The Curriculum Committee reports to the Dean of the College of Medicine and is comprised of Sub-Committees including Integration of Basic and Clinical Sciences, Communication and Planning, Assessment and Evaluation, Educational Strategies and Faculty Development, Clerkship Directors, Fourth Year Rotations, and Medical Student. Other subcommittees will be appointed as needed.